top of page
  • Foto del escritorDigna Gros

A film from the top

I couldn't miss the screening of the movie "Cabaret" for its 50th anniversary at Clifton Observatory! It was a great time enojoying the night views and chatting with Bristol citizens.


When I was looking for things to do in Bristol I found there was a Film Festival that was taking place at the observatory of the city. It was going to be a challenge watching a film without subtitles!


Bristol Film Festival brought the Oscar-winning musical Cabaret 50 years since its release. Local produced Gin-tonics were served to make the event more "classy": the ticket included a Gin & Tonic on arrival, as well as a gin-based cocktail that was served during a brief interval in the film.


To go to the Clifton Observatory, which was a bit far from my apartment, I decided to go there by bus. In fact, I had to take two buses and then walk 5 minutes until reach the building.

When I was waiting for the opening, I met a woman in the queue, her name was Helen and she was a bristol citizen. We talked for a while about why I was visiting Bristol and she told me, among other things, that her son was currently living in Bilbao working as an english teacher. She thought I was brave for traveleing alone and going to the observatory at night and I told her I really enjoy discovering new places by myself.

The only "problem" I had was the last bus was leaving at 11pm and I was worried about it, but Helen offered herself to drive me to my apartment. So, yeah! I got in the front passenger seat of a British car!!!

During the film, Helen and I sat together and talked a little bit more during the interval of the film while we were drinking the gin and tonic with a sprig of thyme.


The Clifton Observatory entrance at night.



Clifton Observatory works with with stunning views of Clifton Suspension Bridge!





Cabaret ( 1972 )

Cambridge University student Brian Roberts arrives in Berlin in 1931 to complete his German studies. Without much money, he plans on making a living teaching English while living in an inexpensive rooming house, where he befriends another of the tenants, American Sally Bowles. She is outwardly a flamboyant, perpetually happy person who works as a singer at the decadent Kit Kat Klub, a cabaret styled venue.





What movie would you like to watch in the original version with subtitles?





10 visualizaciones

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page