top of page
  • Foto del escritorDigna Gros

Where can I find bulk food?

As I was visiting the Green Capital I decided to find bulk food, so I packed my cotton mesh bags and go out to buy food in a sustainable way!




This is The Bristol Loaf and it was located 5 minutes my feet from my apartment, more specifically, in 96 Bedminster Parade.

This popular cafe has teamed up with local Bristol independent businesses, meaning you can pop in for brunch, pick up some fresh fruit and veg, then choose some wine and cheese for an indulgent evening in.

It's an independent company which has delicious, certified organic breads as well as savouries, pastries and cakes. They use only the highest quality, organic ingredients sourced as locally and ethically as possible. In addition to their more traditional bakes, they also offer a range of vegetarian, vegan and non-gluten products.


I encourage you to take a look to their delicious Instagram!



As I am not really keen on british food (mumbling) , my idea was to cook my own meals in order to save money, eat healthy and, in addition, the products would be local.

At a first glance, I saw that The Bristol Loaf was runned by motivated young people. There was plenty of vegetables, fruits, delicius and warm bread, cakes and pastries. First of all, as it was early in the morning, I ordered a coffe latte and a croissant (very european, isn't it?).




After the delicious breakfast I went to the fruit and veg corner. When I asked if I could use my reusable cotton bags and the guy in charge said: for sure! How are you? How's your day?. He was so friendly and helpful!

I was picking the vegs when I saw a refillable milk machine!! I had to ask him if it was cow milk or vegetable milk because, as far as I am concerned, in Catalonia, a refillable option for milk in super markets doesn't exist.




Happy with my purchase, I went back to my apartment to organize the meals for those days. It all cost me 17 pounds.


- 1 letuce

- 6 bananas

- 2 figs

- 3 tomatoes

- 1 avocado

- 1 potatoe

- 1 onion

- 1 pomegranate

- 4 pears

- 1 cereal bread

- 1 local goat cheese


(And I had some eggs that I bought the first day in Bristol)





5 visualizaciones

Entradas recientes

Ver todo
bottom of page